So, when the moon rolls around this afternoon, my plan is to do what so many annoying concert-goers have done before me and mediate my own experience through a tiny screen: my iPhone. If you read enough articles, you’ll find smatterings of advice to make sure you use special solar filters on your camera or put eclipse glasses in front of your camera lens when taking pictures. “Better safe than sorry,” they say. But according to Snopes, Apple says: So that’s what I’m going to do. I’m thinking I’ll use my selfie cam and have my back to the sun. That way I can minimize any chances of those infrared rays creeping around my phone and into my precious retinas. I’ll update you later to let you know if it has any adverse impacts on phone’s camera. You can use that information on April 8, 2024, during the next solar eclipse in the U.S. Let me know how your eclipse viewing went in the comments below.  Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

Can I Watch the Eclipse Through My iPhone  - 61Can I Watch the Eclipse Through My iPhone  - 70