What Is It?

I’m not quite sure! You roll a marble down a spiraling ramp trying to keep it on the track. If it falls off the track, you can “cheat” and pick it up further down the strip. The soundtrack and color themes add some fun to what I thought was an utterly boring game.

I assumed you could move the ball by tilting your phone or iPad. Nope. You need to either use 3D Touch (which I didn’t test) or arrows on the screen. Moving the phone seemed like such an obvious aspect of gameplay I kept forgetting to tap the screen controls. As you move down the road, the curves get harder to control. That’s all the game is—moving a ball down a road. Maybe they had more excitement later on in the game, but after a few minutes, I lost interest.

Who Is It Good For?

If you want to improve your general hand-eye coordination, this game might help. Otherwise, I’m hard-pressed to find anyone who would find this interesting. I don’t need a huge amount of excitement in the game, but this ranks slightly above watching paint dry on the interest scale. I doubt if kids would enjoy it. If the idea of rolling a marble down a hill excites you, then go for it.

Should You Download It?

The game loaded slowly on my iPhone 5s. I couldn’t test the 3D Touch since none of my devices support that feature. Fortunately, the game doesn’t take up too much space at 122 MB. The soundtrack is fun for background noise, so I might just load that when I need to kill the silence. Otherwise, it went off my phone faster than that ball fell off the track. If you’re still undecided, here’s a quick video if you want to get a sense of the game and its dynamics.

Or, Open the App Store on your iPhone/iPad, Click Featured and scroll down. On my iPhone, the “Free App of the Week” is right under “What We’re Playing Today”. Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

Impossible Road is Apple s Free App of the Week - 18Impossible Road is Apple s Free App of the Week - 36Impossible Road is Apple s Free App of the Week - 63Impossible Road is Apple s Free App of the Week - 94