New Apple TV (4th Generation) First Impressions

You have to redownload all of your previous channels (apps) and re-enter the sign-in credential by hunt and peck with the physical remote that is a huge time drain. Apple needs to get its Remote app working on this asap so we can use a keyboard. It’s not all bad, though. The physical remote is decent and being able to us the touch surface to swipe (instead of hitting buttons) makes for a more fluid experience navigating through the interface. It still does the things you’re used to, like AirPlay and it has Apple Music and the library of iTunes content. The picture looks good on my 43″ 1080p screen. However, it’s not future proof since it doesn’t support 4k. Apple touts its new Apple TV saying “The Future of TV is Here”, but in reality, this thing is going to need some serious updates before that claim can be made. These are just my initial thoughts on it after using it for a day. I know it will get better over time. But currently it feels like a first generation beta product. So, if you’re looking to get one, my advice is to wait. There’s not much to see here. Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

My First Impressions of the New Apple TV  4th Generation  - 53My First Impressions of the New Apple TV  4th Generation  - 35My First Impressions of the New Apple TV  4th Generation  - 70My First Impressions of the New Apple TV  4th Generation  - 60