Transferring large quantities of data between drives in XP and Vista is slow. But Windows 7 has improved the transfer speeds compared to earlier versions. Still, my favorite utility for this job is TeraCopy. It moves multiple files easily in an organized way. First, download and install TeraCopy. It’s free for personal use. It copies files faster by using dynamically adjusted buffers to reduce seek times. It also employs asynchronous copying to speed the file transfer between drives.

Recently my Windows Home Server system drive crashed. I’m in the middle of rebuilding it. I have to copy over large amounts of data. In this example I’m copying a 12 GB folder of MP3 files from an external drive to my Windows Home Server. There are two ways to add files to TeraCopy to transfer. Either drag and drop the files into the UI or right click the file or folder you want to transfer and select TeraCopy. I find using the context menu easiest.

TeraCopy opens. Click browse and select the destination to copy the files to. Click OK.

The transfer process begins. You’re able to monitor the progress and can pause or skip files that are duplicates. If you have a large amount of files, minimize the UI while it completes so you can work on other projects.

You’ll find that TeraCopy transfers the files much faster than transferring them using Windows. Another neat feature is it remembers your last target. So, if you’re transferring various folders to the same directory, you don’t need to browse for it each time.

In TeraCopy settings, under Shell Integration – you can set it to to the default copy handler. TeraCopy doesn’t pop up a message when the transfers are done, so I check Play Sound When Complete.

Windows 7 does a decent job transferring individual files. But it you have multiple files with gigabytes of data, TeraCopy is a great time saving utility. Maybe this can be taken offline, but can you post a step-by-step for rebuilding your WHS system drive? The same thing happened to me about 8 months back and I haven’t had the time to look up if there are any other resources out there for WHS system drive restoration. I have all of my files backed up elsewhere, so I can start again from scratch if need be. I just hate seeing 5.5TB just sitting there on my desktop not being used! I’ve been using that to keep drives in SYNC with an external drive for backup. Works pretty good. You think it’s better than TeraCopy? Teracopy reckons it can handle blah errors, but frankly i feel that it IS errors. Not sure what kind of resuming fastcopy can do, but it won’t crash on you in the first place so it really doesn’t matter. http://ipmsg.org/tools/fastcopy.html.en Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

TeraCopy Moves Large Amounts of Data Between Drives Faster - 88TeraCopy Moves Large Amounts of Data Between Drives Faster - 84TeraCopy Moves Large Amounts of Data Between Drives Faster - 25TeraCopy Moves Large Amounts of Data Between Drives Faster - 11TeraCopy Moves Large Amounts of Data Between Drives Faster - 11TeraCopy Moves Large Amounts of Data Between Drives Faster - 66TeraCopy Moves Large Amounts of Data Between Drives Faster - 46