You know how it is, time and time again you break up, then you get back together.  6 months later you break up again only to get back together once everything stabilizes.  I can’t explain how but that’s my relationship with DreamHost over the last 2 years. It happens without fail.  Dreamhost crashes, I get upset then Dreamhost stabilizes for 2-3 months.  I buy another site or recommend the service thinking “yeah it was bad last time but I’m sure they’ve figured things out” only to have the entire service crash again.

Take tonight for instance.  I just finished setting up an expensive, complex Google Adwords campaign for a personal friend who’s site I hosted with Dreamhost.  Just when I kicked it off, Dreamhost crashes. Really?  Who does that?  Who takes down thousands of customers with no advance notice other than a twitter post? Don’t they realize their customers have businesses to run and are counting on their service to be online? Sorry… Had to get that out of my system…  Please don’t knock on my door for a few hours, I’ll be moving my dreamhost sites over to Liquid tonight.  How does it go?

Take down my sites once, shame on you.  Take down my sites again and again and again… shame on me.

    Dreamhost sucks. There will only be ONE time this happens to me, and if I’m lucky enough to get my site back without having to rebuild, it will be OFF Dreamhost’s server faster than a New York minute! debbi We’re such a society now that we demand perfection in everything…and if you are truly paying ‘hundreds of dollars a month’ for a webhost and it’s not working then yes, you should move..if you want to keep it affordable..well that’s another matter entirely. (But I bet most of us chose dreamhost for its affordability, flexibility and ease of use.) Good luck! Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

Why I ll be pulling all my sites off Dreamhost this weekend  - 66Why I ll be pulling all my sites off Dreamhost this weekend  - 43Why I ll be pulling all my sites off Dreamhost this weekend  - 2